Osnabrück University navigation and search

Main content

Top content

Europa-Karte und 12 Sterne, © Katarzyna | stock.adobe.com

Let's go: Studying abroad with the Erasmus program of the European Union

Logo Erasmus

The Erasmus program is an academic exchange program funded by the European Union. It is part of the EU education initiative "Erasmus+" and named after the great European humanist Erasmus of Rotterdam. It aims to promote student and faculty mobility within Europe.

Within the framework of Erasmus, study and internship stays in other European countries can be funded for a maximum of one year each. Every year, up to 700,000 students take advantage of this offer. You too can be part of it!

The partnerships do not exist between the European partner universities as a whole, but between individual departments of the respective universities. Therefore, the different departments of Osnabrück University may have different partner institutes. 

ERASMUS contact person:
PD Dr. Heiko Harten

Dr. Luca Gentile

Administration ERASMUS+:
Dörthe van Eyck
phone: +49 541 969 2831

Contact person (subject coordinator)

  • PD Dr. Heiko Harten


  • Scholarship for one semester or a complete academic year
  • Support for your stay abroad
  • Credit points for your international study achievements


  • Waiver of tuition fees at the host university
  • Monthly financial allowance


The application deadline is the end of January for the respective following academic year. This means that e.g. applications for WS 2020/SS2021 have to be received in January 2020. The exact date must be requested from the Biology examination office in each case. For the actual application, please request the application documents "Europe" from the Erasmus representative.

Please find further information on the following pages:

General information

Specific steps

Partner universities